Overpaid


My son, JT, and I recently attended an NBA game to celebrate his birthday. We loved the pagentry of the arena and the passion of the fans as their teams made a final push for playoff spots.

We investigated team rosters to better follow the action. Interestingly enough, the online information also included their salaries. These men were all earning between $1-15 million a year to play basketball.

Ironically, it didn’t seem that all of these players were working that hard. The offenses were incredible, but the defense was non-existent. Players weren’t getting back on defense and the lack of effort to guard the offensive players was startling.

JT remarked that his youth league coaches would demand more effort.

We agreed that the coaches weren’t getting their money’s worth out of their teams.

For by grace you have been saved through faith. And this is not your own doing; it is the gift of God, not a result of works, so that no one may boast.  Ephesians 2:8-9

It’s a good thing that God isn’t so critical of my performance.

I’m flawed. I sin.

I struggle with a hardened heart.

I don’t deserve the rewards that God has promised me.

Therefore put away all filthiness and rampant wickedness and receive with meekness the implanted word, which is able to save your souls. James 1:21

But Jesus died for me. You too. He died so we could be saved from sin. And while I can never repay this sacrifice, I owe it to Him to put away all my sinful habits and to try and be the man that God desires.

I’m overpaid, but grateful.

Please pray for me to be more loving and forgiving. And let me know how I may pray for you.

God bless.

Standard

Leave a Reply

