Prom night

Carson 2015 junior assembly

Carson is headed to the West High School Prom tonight.  It’s been a day of preparation…the dress, hair, nails and the flowers.  No detail has been overlooked by Carson or Hollianne.  It’s the latest of a series of milestones in Carson’s quickly-passing high school years.

She looks beautiful.

But let’s be honest.  I think that Carson looks great everyday.  She’s a kind, fun and confident young woman…and her attitude makes her beautiful even when wearing her basketball sweats or shorts and a t-shirt.  I’m a bit biased, of course.  But being around her just makes me feel good.  Carson shines from the inside.

Do not let your adorning be external—the braiding of hair and the putting on of gold jewelry, or the clothing you wear— but let your adorning be the hidden person of the heart with the imperishable beauty of a gentle and quiet spirit, which in God’s sight is very precious.  I Peter 3:3-4

Aren’t there people in your life who seem to radiate with positive energy?  It’s their inner beauty that draws us to them.

But the Lord said to Samuel, “Do not look on his appearance or on the height of his stature, because I have rejected him. For the Lord sees not as man sees: man looks on the outward appearance, but the Lord looks on the heart.”  I Samuel 16:7

Our call is to develop the inside. Work on those qualities that can purify our heart and bring eternal rewards.

So we do not lose heart. Though our outer self is wasting away, our inner self is being renewed day by day.  Corinthians 4:16

I’m grateful for the inner beauty that surrounds me everyday.  It inspires me and makes me want to be a better person.

My prayer today will be for us to seek the inner goodness in those around us.  And pray for me to be a good father to Carson as she continues to march toward maturity.

She deserves it.

God bless you.

Standard

One thought on “Prom night

  1. That was just beautiful. I can see the inner most beauty in your family each time you post pictures and updates. God has given you the best and I will pray for you to be the best father you can be. As I would like for you pray for me to be the best mother I can be. Have a wonderful week.

Leave a Reply

