Noise…

B and me Titans dec 13

I don’t know about you, but I love the stillness of the early morning.

I live with a group of sound sleepers, so mornings are often a time when I can read, pray and meditate.  To me- there’s nothing quite like a cup of hot coffee, a silent house and a good book or study to read.  I might study for my Sunday school class or catch up on a chapter or two from my Friday morning men’s study…but it’s my time to be still.  And quiet.

If one gives an answer before he hears, it is his folly and shame.    Proverbs 18:13

We need quiet time.  We are constantly barraged with words…e-mail, text messages, memos and junk mail.  We pass our time watching television, listening to talk radio and plugged into iTunes.  We are barraged by complaining co-workers.  Our children are shouting. Words fill our heads.  We long for peace, but can’t seem to get away from a constant array of unwanted and unwelcome messages.  Noise doesn’t allow us to think.

But his delight is in the law of the Lord, and on his law he meditates day and night. Psalm 1:2

Quiet time allows us to focus on listening to God.  It allows us to read and meditate on His word- and focus on practical application for our lives.

The wise of heart will receive commandments, but a babbling fool will come to ruin.    Proverbs 10:8

Try to find a special place in your home or office that can serve as a personal retreat.  And I pray that you find some time to be quiet this holiday season.  Our God deserves it.

God bless you.

Standard

2 thoughts on “Noise…

Leave a Reply

