Fishers of Men

The lake is one of my favorite places to visit.  We are blessed to live just a mile from Duncan’s Boat Dock on the Tennessee River, and within a few minutes our family can be fishing, kayaking, or enjoying a boat ride.  We do this often.

The water is a place where we can unplug and truly relax.  Fishing gives me time to think and reflect.

Do you ever think about the situation described in Matthew chapter 4?  Peter and Andrew were fisherman.  They made their living on the waters of the Sea of Galilee.  Jesus approached them from the shore and invited them to follow Him.

As Jesus was walking beside the Sea of Galilee, he saw two brothers, Simon called Peter and his brother Andrew.  They were casting a net into the lake, for they were fishermen.  Come, follow me, Jesus said, and I will make you fishers of men.”  At once they left their nets and followed him.  Matthew 4: 18-20

Can you imagine the excitement Peter and Andrew must have felt?  Jesus was no stranger to these two brothers, as He had been preaching in the area and they knew of his life and message.  They immediately left their nets and boat and started their new work- fishing for souls.

I sometimes wonder what purpose God has for me.  We live in a busy, noisy society.  It’s often hard to focus on discovering God’s specific purpose for our life.  I struggle to focus on what God is asking me to do while here on this earth.  Discovering God’s purpose for my life is within my grasp, I just fail to truly seek the instruction.

Be still, and know that I am God.  I will be exalted among the nations, I will be exalted in the earth.  Psalm 46: 10

Be still.

He has a plan for us.  We have been given gifts and we are called to use our gifts for the benefit of glorifying His holy name.

Find rest, O my soul, in God alone; my hope comes from him.  Psalm 62: 5

And we know that in all things God works for the good of those who love him, who have been called according to his purpose.  Romans 8: 28.

This week I will try to earnestly seek God’s specific purpose for my life.  I will be still, ask and then listen for instruction.

You did not choose me, but I chose you and appointed you to go and bear fruit- fruit that will last.  John 15: 6

May we all clearly hear our call to be fishers of men…and have the courage to accept it.

God bless.

Standard

One thought on “Fishers of Men

Leave a Reply

