Election Day

“If I were President of the United States I would:  make some new laws, no drugs and no smoking, give soldiers medals, and make the world a better place.” Britton Carver- kindergarten (2011)

I am grateful for the opportunity to live in a democratic society.  It’s a blessing to be able to vote and participate in the election process.  Hollianne and I don’t take this for granted- and we stress the importance of voting to our kids.

As much as I enjoy the political process, I am happy that this election day has come and gone.  It was a particularly ugly campaign season in East Tennessee.  Negative ads littered our mailboxes, radio speakers and televisions.  Many candidates not only wanted to tell prospective voters about their credentials and accomplishments. but also went on the attack.  Anything to earn a vote, it seems.

Unlike this somewhat tough political realm, we are blessed to have already been elected.

You did not choose me, but I chose you and appointed you that you should go and bear fruit and that your fruit should abide, so that whatever you ask the Father in my name, he may give it to you.  John 15:16

Jesus elected to be persecuted and die on the cross to take away our sins.  His decision afforded us with the opportunity for the ultimate freedom.  Freedom to live with our Lord and Savior.

But we ought always to give thanks to God for you, brothers beloved by the Lord, because God chose you as the firstfruits to be saved, through sanctification by the Spirit and belief in the truth.  2 Thessalonians 2:13

We have been elected.  It is our choice whether to accept this appointment or not.  Will we accept or reject this generous gift?

Behold I stand at the door and knock.  If anyone hears my voice and opens the door, I will come in to him and eat with him, and he with me.  Revelation 3:20

We have already been given the benefit of a win in the world’s greatest election event.  Jesus paid the ultimate price on that cross to give us victory.

Thank God.

 

 

Standard

2 thoughts on “Election Day

Leave a Reply

